The Things We Wish Were True by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen

51MbMthRSSLIn small town suburbia everyone has their secrets and sometimes it takes pulling together in a time of tragedy for those secrets to finally come out into the open. The book is told from the point of view of about half a dozen characters, ranging from a retired lady who’s a bit of a busybody to a stay at home mom debating whether to have another child to a man whose wife has recently left him and is struggling to keep his kids happy without their mom around to a young girl who tries to keep the family together and watch after her little brother while her mom is at work.

It took me a little while to get into this book. While all of the characters grew on me over the course of the story, a few of them just rubbed me the wrong way at the start making me less likely to pick up the book rather than the TV remote. Once I gave them a chance, though, I was sucked in. I admit I was a little impatient to learn some of the secrets, but it’s worth the wait. While I enjoyed the book, the characters mostly fell flat and some of their decisions toward the end were highly questionable and unrealistic, which gave my book club plenty of fodder for discussion. In that sense, it was a success. 😉

Review by Jessica A.

Leave a Reply

